Candidate list finalized for May primary election

By Scott Stewart
Times/Sun Editor

Election season is starting to heat up as the filing period for the upcoming primary has passed. Thirty-five candidates are running in Sarpy County, Papillion, La Vista and Springfield, with many others also running for metropolitan, state and federal offices.

The primary will be held May 5 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. The general election will following on Nov. 6.

The deadline to file for office for incumbents was Feb. 15. Those who do not currently hold office had until March 1.

Here’s a list of candidates who made the deadline to file for the primary election:

Public Defender
Thomas P. Strigenz (R)

County Board — District 1
Rusty Hike (R)
Don Kelly (R)
Melissa Jarecke (R)

County Board — District 3
Tom Richards (D)
Hugh I. Abrahamson (R)

County Board — District 4
Jim Nekuda (R)
Brenda L. Carlisle (R)

City Council — Ward I
Greg Kelly
Jim Glover

City Council — Ward II
Jason L. Gaines
Brian Liesveld

City Council — Ward III
LuAnn Kluch
Dan Elder

City Council — Ward IV
Bob Stubbe


James W. Selders
Douglas Kindig
Klaus Lindner

City Council — Ward I
Mark Groulx
Mike Crawford

City Council — Ward II
Ron Sheehan

City Council — Ward III
Debra L. Hale-Ellerbeck

City Council — Ward IV
Anthony J. Gowan
Randy Eshelman

City Council — At Large (2 seats)
Robert A. Roseland
Daniel Craney

Papillion-La Vista (3 seats)
Valerie L. Fisher
Bill Gess
Ralph G. Healey Jr.
Jeremy Kinsey
Eric Dernovish

South Sarpy District 46 (3 seats)
Nick Stolzer
Brenda J. Sherman
Lori A. Bartels
Robert A. Icenogle

Metropolitan Community College — District 5
William Forsee
Michelle Nekuda

Learning Community Council — District 6
Mike Avery
Charles B. Garman
Blaine McCulloh

Metropolitan Utilities District — At-large (2 seats)
Kimara Z. Snipe
Ron Wanek
Mike McGowan
Megan Murphy
David Friend
Jim Begley
John S. McCollister
Pat Vacanti
Todd Heyne

Public Service Commission — District 3

Tim Schram (R)

Nebraska Legislature — District 2
Ron Nolte
R. Paul Lambert
Robyn Larson
Bill Kintner
Robert Howard
Mel Luetchens

Nebraska Legislature — District 3
Scott Price
Suzanne McNamara

Nebraska Legislature — District 49
John Murante
Frank C. Wellenstein

Nebraska Board of Education — District 2
Mark Quandahl

For the federal ticket, the U.S. Senate race saw a lot attention recently with the addition of former Sen. Bob Kerrey to the Democratic ticket. Also running for the Democrats are Chuck Hasselbrook, Larry Marvin, Steven P. Lustgarten and Sherman Yates.

The Republican contenders for the Senate seat are Jon Bruning, Deb Fischer, Pat Lynn, Don Stenberg, Spencer Zimmerman and Sharyn Elander.

Rep. Lee Terry, a Republican, is running again for the 2nd Congressional District. He is being challenged by John W. Ewing Jr. (D), Paul Anderson (D), Jack Heidel (R), Brett Lindstrom (R), Glenn M. Freeman (R) and Gwen Howard (D).

Nebraska Secretary of State John Gale set the slate of presidential candidates who will appear on the ballot for the primary. They are Newt Gingrich (R), Ron Paul (R), Mitt Romney (R), Rick Santorum (R), Barack Obama (D), Roger Gary (L), RJ Harris (L), Gary Johnson (L), Carl Person (L), Bill Still (L) and R. Lee Wrights (L).

Under Nebraska law, candidates are included on the ballot who have been identified by news media as presidential candidates, Gale said in a news release. The candidates have until Saturday to remove their names from the ballot.

Republicans will vote for president during the May primary. However, Democrats will hold presidential caucuses at 2 p.m. on April 14, with Legislative District 2 and 49 residents meeting at Platteview High School, 14801 S. 108th St., and Legislative District 14 residents meeting at Papillion-La Vista High School, 402 E. Centennial Road.

Registrations for the primary election must be completed by April 27. Early voting requests must be made by May 9 by mail or May 14 in person at the Sarpy County Election Commission, 501 Olson Drive Suite 4. Forms for both registering and early voting can be found at the commission’s website,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: